It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:29 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
 cutting the cord 
Author Message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post cutting the cord
I'm tired of paying $250/month for all the comcrap shit. We never watch premium channels but I pay for all of the providers.

I would like to keep the CC high speed internet but would probably need to buy a different modem/router to avoid paying rental on one of CC's shitty re manufactured boxes.

Any ideas?

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri May 19, 2017 10:55 am
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 29177
Location: Too Far South, Floriduh
Post Re: cutting the cord
Sounds OK, Ive basically done the same.

Kept Comcrap Cable internet and DVR, my homeowners maintenance includes basic cable so Im paying $72 a month with HBO which I could drop and will soon. another $15 off so Comcrap would cost me about $60.

Buy a Roku box and stream Netflix for many series and movies, best Roku is around $100, Netflix is $11 month. Get another streaming service like Hulu for network shows, another $11 or so. Many other streams available on Roku, many free, many about $10 a month.

I bought my own router and modem many moons ago, paid for themselves many times over. Just be sure you get a modem that works with Comcrap, not all do. I have a motorola surfboard. I also should buy a new router as Im sure new ones are better than my Buffalo but it does all I want it to do. Paid about $125 for both over 10 years ago.

There you go. Is that what you wanted to know? If not, ask away.

BTW, can you get any over the air stations where you are? A good antenna may be a good investment also and SOME DVRs work with them.

_________________
"You would not want to be stareing like that at me"

Ranter, Raver and Nitpicker Extraordinaire

So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause. - Star Wars

"If You Think This Has A Happy Ending, You Haven't Been Paying Attention."


Fri May 19, 2017 11:51 am
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
I have 1 smart TV, 1-TV with a wii attached to it and 1-TV that has only the cable box. We are already paying for Netflix and HULU.

All I mainly watch watch are the crime shows on ID, Oxygen and CI...the zombie shows, Better call Saul on AMC and Comedy Central...never ever watch sports and can't remember the last time I watched HBO/showtime/cinemax/etc

Will I need antennas for each TV to catch the local shit or is there a way to use 1 antenna?

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri May 19, 2017 1:02 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 29177
Location: Too Far South, Floriduh
Post Re: cutting the cord
Not an expert on these things but a with a good external antenna you can probably use a splitter and run it to several TVs. Signal can also be boosted with an amplifier if necessary.

There is a program that tells you what stations are near you and if you are in range if you dont already know. Let me know and Ill look for it for you if you need it.

Try this one.

https://www.antennasdirect.com/transmitter-locator.html

edit:
Ha, saw this on that web site:

Quote:
A single outdoor antenna can service more than one television at a time. If your home had satellite or cable service, the coaxial cable needed to send the antenna's signal to all your TVs is already installed.


I know that this is true for my house. Already have a splitter in the attic and feeds to every room.

_________________
"You would not want to be stareing like that at me"

Ranter, Raver and Nitpicker Extraordinaire

So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause. - Star Wars

"If You Think This Has A Happy Ending, You Haven't Been Paying Attention."


Fri May 19, 2017 1:25 pm
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
I checked and the distance to most of the transmitters are less than 10 miles from me

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri May 19, 2017 1:48 pm
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
I'm going to get the antenna, connect it to the tvs and see how it works

I'm looking at something like this https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0063 ... C1%7C&th=1

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri May 19, 2017 1:53 pm
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
this modem/router would allow me to keep the land line we have thru CC. Wife insists on having a landline even though we have had the ringer turned off on the phone for a year or so

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri May 19, 2017 2:37 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 29177
Location: Too Far South, Floriduh
Post Re: cutting the cord
Wow, 10 miles, thats great. Good luck!

Dont know which antennas are good but with Amazon you can try and return if it doesnt work, I guess.

What are you going to do with all the cash you save? (Rather, what is Red going to do with it? :green: )

_________________
"You would not want to be stareing like that at me"

Ranter, Raver and Nitpicker Extraordinaire

So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause. - Star Wars

"If You Think This Has A Happy Ending, You Haven't Been Paying Attention."


Fri May 19, 2017 2:40 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 29177
Location: Too Far South, Floriduh
Post Re: cutting the cord
Good way to go with the router. Thats the newest one I believe and highly rated.

_________________
"You would not want to be stareing like that at me"

Ranter, Raver and Nitpicker Extraordinaire

So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause. - Star Wars

"If You Think This Has A Happy Ending, You Haven't Been Paying Attention."


Fri May 19, 2017 2:43 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:35 am
Posts: 8455
Location: SATX
Post Re: cutting the cord
we pay like 140 for DTV... its high cause the wife has international channels which you cant get unless you have a basic package. All cable/satellite is a rip-off... there are about 4 channels I watch and the rest is pure garbage. HBO and Showtime used to be worth having back in the "day" but pretty much all new programing and movies are mind numbing trash... especially the CGI shit. :tdown: :rolleye:

I do have 1 TV inside connected to a indoor over the air antennae, gets like 30+ channels. I have a large over the air antennae mounted on a pole in concrete next to our dish but haven't hooked it up yet. I think its a matter of time the providers will be forced to let people pay for what they actually want to watch.

oh and had DTV before it was even called DTV like 1994ish... you would think dedicated customers would get a break. That's how it works in my line of business!

_________________
Press 1 for English
Press 2 for Deportation
Image
Image
Image


Fri May 19, 2017 5:56 pm
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
In 1995-96 I went to KMart and purchased the Hughes Dish installation kit and installed it myself.
I then went to roadrunner, then to dishTV, then to Comcast,,,then back to Dish....that was when the installer attached the dish to my asphalt singled roof with screws, punched a hole in one of the whirlybird roof jacks and ran the wire thru it. After that shitty install, I refuse to let another dish be installed on my house

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri May 19, 2017 9:03 pm
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
I got this antenna . Mounted it in my attic.... Tried it out this morning and got 134 channels. The 5-10 I tried out were crystal clear :D

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Sat Jun 17, 2017 11:16 am
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 29177
Location: Too Far South, Floriduh
Post Re: cutting the cord
Thats great, Mike. Also great to know that that one works well. Let us know how far away the farthest channel you get is.

Digital signals are also different. They either work or they dont hence the "crystal clear". This aint your Grand Daddys antenna. ;)

BTW, there are DVRs out there that work from antennas and not just Tivo so you might want to look into them. Thats what I would do in your situation.

Im tempted to buy an antenna just to play but cable is paid for in my HO fee.

_________________
"You would not want to be stareing like that at me"

Ranter, Raver and Nitpicker Extraordinaire

So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause. - Star Wars

"If You Think This Has A Happy Ending, You Haven't Been Paying Attention."


Sat Jun 17, 2017 1:38 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:35 am
Posts: 8455
Location: SATX
Post Re: cutting the cord
Mike were you able to connect all your sets to that bad boy?

_________________
Press 1 for English
Press 2 for Deportation
Image
Image
Image


Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:14 am
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
rabid wrote:
Mike were you able to connect all your sets to that bad boy?


yes...Its mounted right by the splitter in the attic that feeds all the rooms.

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:51 am
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
Fucking comcrap wants $159/mth to keep my internet (Blast!® Pro Internet Download speeds up to 200 Mbps) and landline...ATT wants $50/mth for 25mbps...fuck you comcast

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Fri Jun 23, 2017 8:43 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 8:35 am
Posts: 8455
Location: SATX
Post Re: cutting the cord
SNAP slugs have $10.00 internet.

_________________
Press 1 for English
Press 2 for Deportation
Image
Image
Image


Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:46 am
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
Pulled the plug yesterday. Haven't missed it yet. Kept the CC internet & phone landline 200mbs for $140 a month. With the TV crap it was $250

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Sat Aug 05, 2017 1:45 pm
Profile Send private message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 2:11 pm
Posts: 29177
Location: Too Far South, Floriduh
Post Re: cutting the cord
The way TV is in the summer months its almost like the cord is cut here also. Watch Netflix more than comcrap.

Any DVR yet?. I couldnt live without one and stay out of jail. There are a few out there that work with antennas. Pretty cheap also.

_________________
"You would not want to be stareing like that at me"

Ranter, Raver and Nitpicker Extraordinaire

So this is how liberty dies. With thunderous applause. - Star Wars

"If You Think This Has A Happy Ending, You Haven't Been Paying Attention."


Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:42 am
Profile Send private message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Posts: 29520
Location: Houston
Post Re: cutting the cord
We are looking at DVRs. I'm liking the TIVO with a lifetime subscription.

I found this resource https://www.makehardware.com/ota-dvr-for-cordcutters/

_________________
Hoping for Change
Image

If You Use a Phone in Mexico, Can You Press 1 For English?


Sun Aug 06, 2017 7:43 am
Profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
All material, no matter how asinine, copyright HoE Rehab.